Last Updated:

Rent Special

*Reduced rent to $1,695.00 on apartment homes; 226,207 and 106 and 1/2 month free rent. No other concessions apply. *12month lease with 2 months free ; all concessions are given up front. * 9 month lease with 1 month free; all concessions are given up front. *$750 Look and Lease. *All concessions are subject to change.

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
Floor Plan Models and Units
Number of BedroomsNumber of BathroomsRent RangeSquare FootageName of Floor PlanUnit NumberAvailabilityNewly AddedView More Details
BedsBathsRentSq. Ft.Max OccupantsAvailability
1 Bathroom $1,570 384 2 Residents Available Now
Available Now $1,570 384 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom $1,570 387 2 Residents Available Now
Available Now $1,570 387 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom $1,815 - $1,870 470 3 Residents Available Now
Available Now $1,815 - $1,870 470 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom $1,815 495 3 Residents Available Now
Available Now $1,815 495 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom $1,870 495 3 Residents Available Now
Available Now $1,870 495 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent370 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent370 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent494 2 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent494 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent384 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent384 Sq. Ft.
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
Floor Plan Models and Units
Number of BedroomsNumber of BathroomsRent RangeSquare FootageName of Floor PlanUnit NumberAvailabilityNewly AddedView More Details
BedsBathsRentSq. Ft.Max OccupantsAvailability
1 Bathroom Call for Rent836 5 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent836 Sq. Ft.
1.5 Bathrooms Call for Rent842 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent842 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent888 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent888 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent943 5 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent943 Sq. Ft.
1 Bathroom Call for Rent950 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent950 Sq. Ft.
2 Bathrooms Call for Rent975 0 Residents Not Available
Not AvailableCall for Rent975 Sq. Ft.
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Convenient For

  • Faculty/Staff
  • Graduate Students
  • Undergraduates

Lease Terms

  • 12 month lease
  • Academic Year
  • Flexible/Other lease
  • Short-Term lease

Rental License

  • Not Required/Exempt

Expenses

Recurring
Recurring
Expense TypeFee
Assigned Surface Lot Parking - $95
Assigned Covered Parking - $145
One-Time
One-Time
Expense TypeFee
Admin Fee$500
Application Fee$60
Included Utilities
Utilities
Expense TypeFee
WaterIncluded
Trash RemovalIncluded
SewerIncluded

Apartment Description

The Place You Can Call Home

Experience style and convenient living in our lovely historical building, only blocks from the Rhode Island Ave. Metro station, shops, and restaurants. Originally built in 1936-37, the building has been beautifully restored & renovated; keeping the exquisite Elizabethan- inflected art deco style of its designer, George T. Santmyers. Whether it’s a spacious studio, elegant one bedroom, spectacular two bedroom or two bedroom den, Metropolitan has the place you can definitely call Home! We will not refuse to rent a rental unit to a person because the person will provide the rental payment, in whole or in part, through a voucher for rental housing assistance provided by the District or federal government. Housing choice vouchers welcome. Vales de Eleccion de Vivienda Bienvenidos. Service & Other Assistance Animals Welcome.

Office Hours

SundayCLOSED
Monday9:00 AM6:00 PM
Tuesday9:00 AM6:00 PM
Wednesday9:00 AM6:00 PM
Thursday9:00 AM6:00 PM
Friday9:00 AM6:00 PM
Saturday9:00 AM5:00 PM

Amenities

Unique Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Arched Doorways
  • Bike Racks
  • Bike Room
  • Bike room and storage
  • Car Wash Station w/Vacuum
  • Close to Bloomingdale
  • Courtyard
  • Desirable and Trendy Location
  • Fire Pit & Barbecue Area
  • Foyer Entry
  • Fun outdoor space with fire pit.
  • Gourmet kitchens with granite countertops
  • Gourmet kitchnes with granite countertops
  • Grocery Store 3 blocks from home.
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Large Windows
  • Larger Friendly Dog Allowed-Restrictions
  • Ornate Historic Lobby
  • Patio/Balcony
  • Pet Spa
  • Pet grooming station
  • Pet park
  • Red Line
  • Red Line Metro- Rhode Island Station
  • Resident Lounge
  • Rhode Island Metro Station
  • Spacious and Affordable.
  • Verizon Fios available
  • Washer/Dryer
  • designated 1930's historic DC landmark
  • gourmet kitchens
  • large closets
  • residential dog run park

Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Internet Access
  • Cable or Satellite
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Framed Mirrors
  • Heating
  • Tub/Shower
  • Washer/Dryer in Unit

Fitness & Recreation

  • Bicycle Racks
  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Kitchen

  • Breakfast Nook
  • Dishwasher
  • Eat-in Kitchen
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Granite Countertops
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Range
  • Refrigerator
  • Stainless Steel Appliances

Services

  • Car Charging Station
  • Car Wash Area
  • Controlled Access
  • Dog Park
  • Laundry Facility
  • Maintenance on site
  • Package Service
  • Pet Washing Station
  • Property Manager on Site
  • Recycling
  • Renters Insurance Program

Interior

  • Club House
  • Elevator
  • Lounge
  • Vintage Building

Outdoor Space

  • Courtyard
  • Gated Community
  • Grill
  • Patio
  • Patio or Balcony
  • Picnic Area

Living Space

  • Den
  • Dining Room
  • Hardwood Floor
  • Tile Floors
  • View
  • Walk-In Closets
  • Window Covering

Parking

Assigned Surface Lot Parking

Assigned Covered Parking

Pet Policy

Cats and Dogs Allowed

All pets require additional security deposit of $400 and $200 of that deposit is non-refundable. (85 lb. weight limit with breed restrictions)

  • 60 lbWeight Limit
  • 2Pet Limit

Nearby Shopping

Strip Center at 415 Rhode Island Ave NEWalk: 4 min (0.2 mi)
Rhode Island Avenue Shopping CenterWalk: 5 min (0.2 mi)
Strip Center at 908-914 Rhode Island Ave NEWalk: 11 min (0.6 mi)

Military

US Soldiers & Airmens HomeDrive: 5 min (1.9 mi)
Marine Corps BarracksDrive: 7 min (3.4 mi)
Washington Navy YardDrive: 9 min (3.8 mi)

Transit / Subway

Rhode Island Ave-BrentwoodWalk: 12 min (0.6 mi)
NoMA-Gallaudet UWalk: 19 min (1.0 mi)
Shaw-Howard UDrive: 2 min (1.2 mi)
Brookland-CUADrive: 4 min (1.4 mi)
U StreetDrive: 3 min (1.4 mi)
Union StationDrive: 6 min (2.2 mi)

Airports

Ronald Reagan Washington NationalDrive: 15 min (7.5 mi)
Baltimore-Washington InternationalDrive: 48 min (30.1 mi)
Washington Dulles InternationalDrive: 60 min (31.2 mi)

Colleges within 10 Miles

Trinity Washington UniversityDrive: 4 min (0.9 mi)
Howard UniversityDrive: 4 min (1.5 mi)
Gallaudet UniversityDrive: 5 min (2.1 mi)

Parks and Recreation

Carter G. Woodson Home National Historic SiteDrive: 3 min (1.3 mi)
Mary McLeod Bethune Council House NHSDrive: 4 min (1.8 mi)
Marian Koshland Science MuseumDrive: 4 min (2.1 mi)
Washington Youth GardenDrive: 5 min (2.2 mi)
Meridian Hill ParkDrive: 4 min (2.2 mi)

Schools

Attendance Zone Nearby Property Identified
Attendance Zone Nearby Property Identified

Langley Elementary School

Grades PK-5

290 Students

(202) 724-4223

out of 10

Dunbar High School

Grades 9-12

667 Students

(202) 698-3762

out of 10

Harmony DC Public Charter School - School of Excellence

Grades K-5

112 Students

(202) 529-7500

out of 10

City Arts & Prep Public Charter School

Grades PK-8

432 Students

(202) 269-4646

out of 10

Inspired Teaching Demonstration Public Charter School

Grades PK-8

470 Students

(202) 248-6825

out of 10

McKinley Middle School

Grades 6-8

231 Students

(202) 281-3950

out of 10

Calvary Christian Academy

Grades PK-8

205 Students

(202) 526-5176

out of 10

Academy for Ideal Education - T Street

Grades 1-12

(202) 269-3186

out of 10
Loading...

Ratings

Walk Score®

85

Very Walkable

Transit Score®

0

Minimal Transit

Bike Score®

83

Very Bikeable

Renter Reviews

For The Metropolitan Apartments

6 Ratings & Reviews

9/1/15

Diamond in the rough

I wasn't sure this was the place for me when I first toured the neighborhood--while not nearly as bad as it used to be, the Rhode Island Metro area isn't known for its appealing looks. The building was incredible, though--gorgeous hardwood floors, granite countertops and brand-new appliances in a kitchen with pass-throughs (a lifelong dream), even individual AC units in every room (that don't obliterate your power bill, as it turns out!). So the girlfriend and I talked it over and decided to give it a try. Two weeks later, we're convinced we've hit the jackpot. The rent is very reasonable ($2200 for a two-bedroom and den, and delightfully close to everything via metro, bus, or Uber). The facilities are fantastic--full gym, pet spa, secured bike storage, and front desk service seven days a week. The apartment gets tons of sunlight (the den is quickly becoming our pajama herb garden). The staff are just amazing--competent, helpful, and family-friendly (the assistant property manager's son is a building toy fanatic, so I was only too pleased to introduce him to the world of Lego). And as it turns out, the neighborhood is on the up-and-up--the nearby shopping center (already sporting a sizeable CVS, Sala Thai, Carolina Kitchen, and Chipotle) is plastered with "Coming Soon!" signs. I'm spending entirely too much time in the Home Depot a block past that, which shares a parking lot with Giant--which fills in the gaps of our Sunday farmer's market runs a few blocks up Rhode Island Ave. I'm in love, and very glad I gave the Metropolitan the chance it deserves. Check it out!

Review from Apartments.com

Was this review helpful?

Flag Review

5/2/16

Do not move here!

This building is not secure and the building's management is incompetent and rude. The front doors regularly will not lock. Management does not respond to issues in the building. They have entered my until multiple times without giving me any notice, and have lied about it afterwards. They disregard tenant's rights and lease terms. This is an awful place. I only wish I knew that before I signed my lease.

Review from Apartments.com

Was this review helpful?

Flag Review

Property Manager at The Metropolitan Apartments responded to this review

My name is Eddy Hyland and I am the Regional Property Manager for the Metropolitan Apartments. I would like to extend a sincere apology to the resident who expressed her displeasure with Management. Maintenance entered her apartment when she wasn't home to address what was perceived to be an emergency, therefore, Management acted at the time in a way that was truly thought to be in the resident's best interest. As a result, Maintenance took action and went into her apartment and assessed the situation. Fortunately, there was no emergency but we did need to return to do some minor drywall work and painting. We mutually agreed to a date when Maintenance would perform the work. It turned out, this would be a two-day process instead of one. When we returned the second day, the resident did not see the note left by Maintenance that stated we be returning to finish the job and felt we had ignored her request not to enter her apartment without prior notice. Unfortunately, as a result, she believes we entered her apartment without proper notice for unfounded reasons and understandably, she was clearly upset with Management for the miscommunication on both occasions, prompting her to respond to social media. In addition, I would like to share with those reading this response that we have a technically advanced apartment door locking system. By using an electronic fob instead of a key, we are able to determine who, and at what time someone unlocks a resident's door. We know this added feature offers peace of mind to many of the residents and we are pleased to be able to provide this amenity. Regarding her statement about the building entrance doors not always being locked, the fob controlled entrance door plates can come loose due to regular use. i am grateful to this resident for bringing this my attention, as we have now implemented an improved inspection process to do our best to assure the doors are always functioning properly. We are not perfect, but I can assure you, your concerns while living at The Metropolitan will be listened to and addressed accordingly. Again, I apologize to the resident for any inconveniences and miscommunication, and I will do all I can to make her stay at The Metropolitan a pleasant one.

6/8/16

Best Bang for Your Bucks!!!!

I moved to “The District” several months ago and having done an extensive apartment search before making my decision, I lucked out with acquiring a one bedroom/bathroom apartment at the Metropolitan Apartments– “the best bang for my buck”! The Metropolitan Apartment offers modern new apartments with “top of the line" features throughout including hardwood floors, granite counter top, stainless steel appliances, balconies, on-site secured parking, fitness room, additional laundry facility, pet grooming center, dogie run, car maintenance area and a courtyard with grills for outdoor dining /entertainment. This beautiful building is a renovated historic landmark, close to NOMA, H Street and U Street for your dining needs and entertainment choices. The Metropolitan Apartments is just a short walk to the Rhode Island Avenue metro. The management staff is always professional and will notify me if I have a package available for pick up in the leasing office. The apartment complex interior is kept clean and the exterior landscaping is kept well manicured. Additionally as a single woman, I truly appreciate the security of the building. I would highly recommend the Metropolitan Apartments to anyone looking to live in “The District”!

Review from Apartments.com

Was this review helpful?

Flag Review

10/3/16

Beautiful Building...but...

pros: secure building upgraded units additional laundry outside of your w/d in unit quiet great rental office staff, and maintenance. parking pet friendly, pet run, pet spa room (if you have a pet) curb appeal great floors, paint, kitchen, size bike room cons: lobby needs decor badly to highlight the gorgeous floors/ceiling no ventilation in hallways closets are small/no additional storage no rooftop there have been recurring roaches in many units (which is ridiculous)take precautions and spray your cabinets often. needs zip car on property, or shuttle to station would help (not that close) the cons can be corrected. we love the area and the building. yes i would recommend. My husband and i have a 2 bed and will stay for now. hopefully the cons will be addressed sooner than later. they need to stay competitive for DC. there are new apt. in dc with great amenities for the same price.

Review from Apartments.com

Was this review helpful?

Flag Review

11/5/16

Truly a Hidden Gem

I have lived at The Metropolitan Apartments for over a year. What I love: -The management here is excellent. I have had nothing but great interactions with them. They know who I am when I stop by the office, I have never felt like just a "rent check" to them. I've experienced the bad, and am very thankful there's a great team here at the Metropolitan. -The units are beautiful and make great use of space. I have a studio apartment. I love that I have a combo washer/dryer, a built-in bar counter in the kitchen (removing the need for a dining table), a dishwasher, a walk-in closet and a full bathtub/shower in a STUDIO! In DC! And the extra space above the cabinets and the ceiling is great for additional storage. -Gym onsite. -I rarely EVER hear anyone's dogs. Seriously. -Contrary to another review on here I have never seen a single bug/roach in the building. -Proximity to a grocery store (Giant)with a huge full surface parking lot (shared with Home Depot)!!! Um hello, this is amazing in DC. Also check out Good Food Market, Zeke's Coffee, and the TJ Maxx in the Giant shopping center has excellent selection! Things I could be nit-pick about: -The unit doors. Sigh. Ok...the door frames are metal (and therefore very secure with the keyless locks we have). HOWEVER. Door slamming can be somewhat of an issue. There are no door slowing mechanisms on any of the unit doors, and if a neighbor isn't paying attention, if they slam their door it is very loud against the metal door frame. Luckily my neighbors are generally quiet door closers, whereas someone else down the hall tends to slam theirs. Management does know about this, in general, but given all of the things I love about my apartment I kinda've just deal with it. As for the area- I have never felt unsafe in the apartment itself. Or parking out back at night, etc. However I do not walk home from the Rhode Island metro to the apartment at night. I have walked it several times during the day and it's generally fine, just be careful. I'm a mid-twenties female. I never felt the need to move. I would however caution that if you're going to walk around, especially at night, just be aware of your surroundings.

Review from Apartments.com

Was this review helpful?

Flag Review

Other Nearby Rentals

(844) 428-7186

You must be signed in or create an account to email this property.

Sign In